10Thuringian State Office for Racial Affairs

Marienstraße 13/15

Black and white photograph of two people in white coats standing outside on cobblestones. They are holding and looking at long, folded sheets of paper with photographs and texts on them. The sheets are hung on a line in front of them.
Employees present family tree, around 1937.

During the Nazi era, the Thuringian State Office for Racial Affairs was housed in the two buildings facing the street, which are now part of the Bauhaus University. The National Socialist Dr Karl Astel, who had good contacts with Fritz Sauckel and Heinrich Himmler, was appointed president of the state office. Astel propagated the superiority of the "nordic race" and vehemently advocated sterilisation and the murder of the disabled ("euthanasia"). He was also a professor and, from 1939, even rector of the University of Jena. The "Institute for Human Hereditary Research and Racial Policy" which he founded there was incorporated into the State Office in 1936.
The office, which employed up to 52 people, organised training courses in racial studies and genetics (hereditary health) for doctors, lawyers and teachers. A travelling exhibition entitled "Thuringian Race" and a play called "Erbstrom" reached a wide audience. The office also systematically recorded the Thuringian population in terms of hereditary biology, using data from the health authorities. The state office drew up expert reports, which often led to the sterilisation of "hereditarily ill" people. The central basis for assessment was the so-called "Sippschaftstafeln". After the Nuremberg Race Laws of 1935, the state office also began categorising people as "aryans" or "non-aryans". Shortly before the American occupation, Karl Astel committed suicide in April 1945.

10Thüringisches Landesamt für Rassewesen

Marienstraße 13/15

Schwarz-Weiss-Fotografie von zwei Personen in weissen Kitteln, die draussen auf Kopfsteinpflaster stehen. Sie halten und betrachten lange, gefaltete Papierbögen mit Fotografien und Texten darauf. Die Bögen sind vor ihnen auf einer Leine aufgehängt.
Mitarbeiter präsentieren Sippschaftstafel, um 1937.

In den beiden zur Straßenfront gelegenen Häusern, heute Teil der Bauhaus-Universität, war in der NS-Zeit das Thüringische Landesamt für Rassewesen untergebracht. Zum Präsidenten des Landesamts wurde der Nationalsozialist Dr. med. Karl Astel ernannt, der gute Kontakte zu Fritz Sauckel und Heinrich Himmler unterhielt. Astel propagierte die Überlegenheit der „nordischen Rasse“ und setzte sich vehement für Sterilisierungen sowie die Ermordung Behinderter („Euthanasie“) ein. Er war zugleich Professor, ab 1939 sogar Rektor der Universität Jena. Sein dort gegründetes „Institut für menschliche Erbforschung und Rassenpolitik“ wurde 1936 dem Landesamt eingegliedert.


Das Amt, das bis zu 52 Mitarbeiter beschäftigte, organisierte Fortbildungskurse in Rassekunde und Eugenik (Erbgesundheitslehre) für Ärzte, Juristen und Lehrer. Eine Wanderausstellung mit dem Titel „Thüringisches Rassewesen“ sowie ein Theaterstück namens „Erbstrom“ erreichten eine breite Öffentlichkeit. Zudem betrieb das Amt die systematische Erfassung der Thüringer Bevölkerung in erbbiologischer Hinsicht, wobei es auf die Daten der Gesundheitsämter zugreifen konnte. Das Landesamt erstellte Gutachten, die häufig zu Sterilisierungen „erbkranker“ Menschen führten. Zentrale Bewertungsgrundlage waren sogenannte Sippschaftstafeln. Nach den Nürnberger Rassegesetzen von 1935 begann das Landesamt zusätzlich damit, Menschen als „Arier“ oder „Nicht-Arier“ einzustufen.


Kurz vor dem Einmarsch der Amerikaner beging Karl Astel im April 1945 Selbstmord.